• Das Informationsportal
  • rund um unser lebenswertes
  • und liebenswertes Frankenland
In the moment there is 1 Visitor online

The Bayreuth County

View at Bayreuth County near Pleofen
View at Bayreuth County near Pleofen

The administrative district Bayreuth lies in the southeast of the Bavarian governmental district Upper Franconia. Neighbouring circles are in the northwest the administrative district Lichtenfels, in the north the administrative district Kulmbach and the administrative district Hof, in the east the administrative districts Wunsiedel and Tirschenreuth, in the south the administrative districts Neustadt a.d. Waldnaab, Amberg-Sulzbach and Nuremberg county and in the west the administrative districts Forchheim and Bamberg.

With a surface of 1,273 kms ² and 109,000 residents there come 89 residents on the square kilometer.


The area of a circle encloses in the south and the west Franconian Switzerland. Here numerous caves, under it the devil's cave, the Binghöhle and the Sophienhöhle are found. The middle area of a circle encloses the upper May niche hill country which has its name of the Red Main River which arises to the south of Bayreuth and flows then in northwest direction to unite to the west of Kulmbach with the White Main River. In the east the circle has interest in the Fichtelgebirge to whose highest elevation, the snowy mountain (Schneeberg), the area of a circle comes up up to about 960 ms over sea-niveau.

Coats of arms of the administrative district Bayreuth

Wappen des Landkreises Bayreuth / Oberfranken
Wappen des Landkreises Bayreuth / Oberfranken

Under a sign head with the Bavarian pound signs in silver a golden reinforced red eagle with golden clover stalks on the wings.

The central figure is the red eagle with the clover stalks from the coat of arms of the zolleric mark counts of Bayreuth which viscount Friedrich von Nürnberg took over after achieving of the elector's dignity 1415 as a token of the Brandenburg March. Till 1791 the area of a circle was a principal item of the dukes, the today's capital town since 1542 seat of the baronial office and after 1603 also of the royal household. From the Prussian chamber offices of Bayreuth and pasture mountain the Bavarian district courts of the same name were formed in 1812. In 1862 one combined them to the district velvet Bayreuth whose parish grown in 1929 with the abolition of the district Berneck corner considerably. Already in 1857 there had come to the district court (elder order) pasture mountain the municipalities Fichtelgebirge, Oberwarmensteinach, Lienlas, Reislas, Kirchenpingarten, Kirchenlaibach and Tressau from formerly Super Palatinate office Kemnath.

The sign head with the Bavarian pound signs refers to the past of this area in the east share of the administrative district under Wittelsbachers rule. They symbolize at the same time the newer state development in the eastern Upper Franconia since the integration of the principality Bayreuth in the kingdom Bavaria in 1810. The new flag of a circle shows two stripes in the colors Red and white.

Short historical demolition

The modern area of a circle was a part of the margraviate Bayreuth till 1803, then it belonged temporarily to France and in 1810 it came to Bavaria. Already in 1804 district court Pottenstein was established, in 1812 followed the district court districts Bayreuth, Pegnitz and Weidenberg and the seat of district court Pegnitz was till 1842 in Schnabelwaid. Bayreuth had become already in 1812 an immediate of a circle city. The district court districts and Bayreuth belonged at first to the Obermainkreis, from 1838 to Upper Franconia.

In 1862 the district velvet Pegnitz and from the district court districts Bayreuth and Weidenberg the district velvet Bayreuth originated from the district court districts Pegnitz and Pottenstein. Both districts was called from 1939 administrative districts.

With the area reform in Bavaria in 1972 Bayreuth, to the biggest part of the administrative district Pegnitz as well as parts of the administrative districts Münchberg (area of the today's town Gefrees in the north-east), Ebermannstadt (municipality Aufsess in the west), Kulmbach (space Bad Berneck in the north), ash brook in Upper Palatinate (district Penzenreuth of the city Pegnitz in the south) and Kemnath (Wirbenz, district of municipality Speichersdorf in the east) the new administrative district Bayreuth was established from the administrative district. Bayreuth itself remained free of circle and seat of the enlarged administrative district. Its area was increased by integration of some municipalities of the administrative district Bayreuth like Dörnhof, Wolfsbach or Seulbitz accordingly. >  Towns and Municipalities > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth County
(c) 2006-2012 Axel Schröder